All about Indian Army

Indian Army
Jammu and Kashmir, Jan 26 (ANI): Army Jawans hold the National Flag and raise slogans near the snow-covered border on the occasion of 71st Republic Day in Kupwara on Sunday. (ANI Photo)

The Indian Army is the land based branch and the largest component of the Indian Armed Forces.

Its primary mission is to ensure the national security and defense of the Republic of India from external aggression and
threats, and maintaining peace and security within its borders.

Size :

Active personnel : Around 1,129,900
Reserve personnel : Around 960,000
Aircraft : 315
Tanks : Around 3500

Moto : Service Before Self

Indian Army Day : 15 January

Chief of the Army Staff : General Manoj Mukund Naravane
Chief of defense staff : General Bipin Rawat

Headquarters : New Delhi, India

Rank Structure

Photo source

Commissioned ranks

Field Marshal
Lieutenant General
Major General
Lieutenant Colonel

Junior commissioned ranks

Subedar Major
Naib Subedar

Non-commissioned rank

Lance Naik

Commands –

The army operates 7 operational commands. Each command is headed by General Officer with the rank of Lieutenant General. Each command is directly affiliated to the Army HQ in New Delhi.

Central Command headquartered : Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
Eastern Command headquartered : Kolkata, West Bengal
Northern Command headquartered : Udhampur, Jammu and Kashmir
Southern Command headquartered : Pune, Maharashtra
South Western Command headquartered : Jaipur, Rajasthan
Western Command headquartered : Chandimandir
Training Command headquartered : Shimla, Himachal Pradesh


Field formations –
The basic field formations of the Indian Army:
Command: Indian Army has 6 operational commands and 1 training command. Each one is headed by a General Officer known as Army Commander, who is among the senior-most Lieutenant General officers in the army.

Corps: A command generally consists of two or more corps. Indian Army has 13 Corps & each one is commanded by a General Officer who holds the rank of Lieutenant General. Each corps is composed of 3–4 Divisions

Division: Each Division is headed by Major General. It usually consists of 3 to 4 Brigades. Currently, the Indian Army has 37 Divisions. There are 18 Infantry Divisions, 10 Mountain Divisions, 3 Armored Divisions and 2 Artillery Divisions.

Brigade: A Brigade generally consists of around 3,000 combat troops with supporting elements. An Infantry Brigade usually has 3 Infantry Battalions along with various Support Elements. It is commanded by a brigade commander who is a Brigadier. In addition to the Brigades in various Army Divisions, the Indian Army also has 5 Independent Armored Brigades, 15 Independent Artillery Brigades, 7 Independent Infantry Brigades, 1 Independent Parachute Brigade,3 Independent Air Defense Brigades, 2 Independent Air Defense.

Battalion: Composed of four rifle companies. Commanded by a battalion commander who is a Colonel and is the Infantry’s main fighting unit.

Company: Composed of three platoons. Commanded by a Company Commander who is a Major or Lieutenant-Colonel.

Platoon: Composed of three sections. Commanded by a Platoon Commander who is a JCO.

Section: Smallest military outfit with a strength of 10 personnel. Commanded by a Section Commander of the rank of Havaldar.


Tanks :

Photo source:

Arjun MBT

Aircrafts :

HAL Rudra
HAL Dhruv
HAL Cheetah
HAL Chetak

Missiles :

Photo source:

Ballistic Missiles

Agni-V – 5,000 km-8,000 km range
Agni-VI – 8000–12,000 km range

Prahaar missile
Shaurya missile

Cruise Missiles

Hypersonic missile
Nirbhay Missile
BrahMos Missile

Anti-Tank Guided Missile

Nag Anti-tank guided missile – ground and air-launched variant.

Training :

Photo source:

National Defence Academy(NDA) : Pune

Indian Military Academy(IMA) : Dehradun

Officers Training Academy(OTA) : Chennai and Gaya

Wars fought by Indian Army

Photo source:

1962 : India – China war :- Only war that Indian Army has lost till date and lost its territory Akshi chin as well .

1965 : Indo – Pak war :- India won the war and as result of which India also captured Pak territory i.e Lahore but Later India Sign Tashkent Agreement and gave Lahore back to Pak.

Tashkent Declaration Signatories: Lal Bahadur Shastri (Prime Minister of India) and Muhammad Ayub Khan (President of Pakistan)

1971 : Bangladesh Liberation War :- As the East Pakistan was always under the pressure of West Pakistan so in order to help peoples of East Pakistan, The Indian Army fought war against West Pakistan and with the help of Soviet Union, made East Pakistan a new country as Bangladesh.

1999 : Kargil war :- India faught war with Pakistan and again defeated Pakistan and Indian territory freed from Pakistan which was illegally occupied by Pakistan solider.

*Indian Army has a record of winning all its wars against Pakistan.

Special Forces Of Indian Army

Para commando is the special force of Indian Army .

Also read:

Also read:

Also read:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.